Home / Journals / CMC / About Editors
Special Issues
Table of Content

About Editors

Computers, Materials & Continua

ISSN: 1546-2218 (Print)

ISSN: 1546-2226 (Online)


Dr. Ankit Agrawal (Ph.D. 2009, B.Tech. 2006) is a Research Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northwestern University, USA, and specializes in interdisciplinary big data analytics via high performance data mining, based on a coherent integration of high performance computing and data mining to develop customized solutions for big data problems. His research has contributed to large-scale data-guided discovery in various scientific and engineering disciplines, such as materials science, healthcare, bioinformatics, and social media. He has co-authored 100+ peer-reviewed journal and conference publications, including those at top-tier computer science venues such as KDD, ICDM, CIKM, SDM, ICDE, Supercomputing, HiPC, and interdisciplinary ones like Nature Scientific Reports, APL Materials, MRS Communications, npj Computational Materials, Acta Materialia, Journal of Mechanical Design, Journal of American Medical Informatics Association, Journal of Computational Chemistry, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics, etc. He has also developed and released several open-source software, delivered numerous invited/keynote talks, been on program committees of major research conferences, and served as a PI/Co-PI on more than a dozen sponsored projects funded by various US federal agencies (e.g. NSF, DOE, AFOSR, NIST, DARPA, DLA) as well as industry (e.g. Toyota Motor Corporation Japan).

Dr. Timon Rabczuk received his PhD in January 2002 at the University of Karlsruhe. Subsequently, he worked for more than 3.5 years and 1 year as postdoctoral fellow at the Computational Mechanics group at Northwestern University with Prof. Ted Belytschko and at the Technical University of Munich, respectively, before joining the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand as Senior Lecturer. Since 2009, Dr. Rabczuk is chaired professor of Computational Mechanics at the Bauhaus University Weimar, Germany. The research focus of Dr. Rabczuk is Integrated Computational Materials Engineering, Computational Materials Design and Computational (Solid) Mechanics with emphasis on method development. He is particularly interested in Isogeometric Analysis and innovative methods for moving boundary/interface problems as they occur in fracture, fluid-structure interaction, optimization, inverse analysis or image registration to name a few applications. He also worked on uncertainty analysis and multiscale methods and their application to computational materials design. In this context, Dr. Rabczuk has focused on two-dimensional materials and composites. 

Dr. Guoren Wang received the BSc, MSc, and PhD degrees from the Department of Computer Science, Northeastern University, China, in 1988, 1991, and 1996, respectively. He is currently a professor in the School of Computer Science and Technology, Beijing Institute of Technology, China. He was a professor in the School of Computer Science and Engineering, Northeastern University, China, before joining Beijing Institute of Technology.
He is a Changjiang Distinguished Professor and a winner of National Science Fund of China for Distinguished Young Scholars. He was the vice direction (2012-2019) of Database Society of China Computer Federation. He has served as PC Co-chair of the 2004 international conference on Web Aged Information Management, and PC members of several international conferences in the database field, such as VLDB, ICDE, DASFAA, WISE, WAIM, APWeb. He is the general Co-chair of the first International Conference on Decentralized Data Technologies and Applications which will be held in China, 2020. His research interests include graph data management, distributed and parallel data processing, big data computing, bioinformatics,knowledge graph and machine learning. He has published more than 200 research papers. He is a member of the IEEE and a distinguished member of China Computer Federation.

 Founding and Honorary Editor-in-Chief

Prof. Satya Atluri's professional interests lie in the areas of aerospace and mechanical engineering. His teaching and research interests at UCI lie in the disciplinary areas of: applied mathematics; theoretical, applied, and computational mechanics of solids and fluids at various length and time scales; computer modeling in engineering and sciences; meshless and other novel computational methods; structural longevity, failure prevention, and health management. 

He received Doctor of Science degrees from: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (earned); National University of Ireland (honoris causa); Slovak Academy of Sciences (honoris causa); and the University of Patras (honoris causa).

He is a Distinguished Alumnus of the Indian Institute of Science.

He previously taught at: UCLA (Distinguished Professor); Georgia Tech (Institute Professor, Regents’ Professor of Engineering, and Hightower Chair in Engineering); MIT (JC Hunsaker Professor); and the University of Washington (Assistant Professor).

He is a Tsing Hua Honorary Chair Professor at the National Tsing Hua University, in Taiwan, and an Honorary Professor at the University of Patras. Previously he was an Honorary Professor at the Tsinghua University in Beijing, and the Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Korea.

He is Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics; Fellow of AIAA; Fellow of ASME; Honorary Fellow of the International Congress on Fracture, Fellow of the Aeronautical Society of India; Fellow of the Chinese Society of Theoretical & Applied Mechanics, and many others. He was elected to membership in the US national Academy of Engineering; the India National Academy of Engineering; the Third World Academy of Sciences (Trieste); and the European Academy of Sciences.

Some notable recognitions he received include those from AIAA ( the Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Medal; the Pendray Aerospace Literature Medal` and the SDM Lecture Award); from the Federal Aviation Administration ( “Excellence in Aviation Award”); from the ASCE ( the Aerospace Structures and Materials Award); from the Society of Engineering Science ( The Eringen Medal); from ICCES ( the “ Hilbert Medal” and the “ICCES Gold Medal”); from JSME, Japan ( the Computational Mechanics Medal); from the Greek National Association of Computational Mechanics( The Computational Mechanics Medal); from JSPS, Japan ( JSPS Fellow); from the US Secretary of Commerce ( Distinguished Service Award, the President’s National Medal of Technology Committee); from Georgia Tech (the annual Distinguished Professor Award; and twice the annual Outstanding Researcher Awards). From Sigma-Xi (the Sustained Research Award); from the Science Citation Index (one of 100 most highly cited researchers in engineering); from the National Academy of Engineering (Technical Achievement Award). He has been a Midwestern Mechanics Lecturer, as well as a Southwestern Mechanics Lecturer.

Share Link